• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Different Internet Latency
Hi,

I'm new to Jamkazam and experience latency problems due to internet connection when jamming with my band (6 players). The iinternet latency is high, with values above 50ms, ranging up to around 200 ms. My personal audio interface's latency is around 5 ms and input/output jitter is floating around 0 ms. My internet connection is rather slow, with around 3 MBps download and 1.5 MBps upload. I am using a LAN connection to my router.

However, if I am jamming with one friend of mine who has a high-speed fibre connection, my own slow connection does not seem to produce latencies. The audio stream is fine and we can play in sync.

Is it just the fibre connection which causes the different behaviour or am I missing something?

Best regards
Christian
with only 1.5 Mb/s upload you may be hitting a limit for number of connections. 1.5 is enough to have a good session with one or 2 people, but in my experience you need about 5mb/s upload to have a tight session with 6 players.

If fiber optic service is an option for you, you should consider it. It's currently the best form of internet access available to the consumer. in most cases your upload speed is equal to your download speed AKA "symmetrical".
(03-12-2021, 09:03 AM)c-sasse Wrote: Hi,

I'm new to Jamkazam and experience latency problems due to internet connection when jamming with my band (6 players). The iinternet latency is high, with values above 50ms, ranging up to around 200 ms. My personal audio interface's latency is around 5 ms and input/output jitter is floating around 0 ms. My internet connection is rather slow, with around 3 MBps download and 1.5 MBps upload. I am using a LAN connection to my router.

However, if I am jamming with one friend of mine who has a high-speed fibre connection, my own slow connection does not seem to produce latencies. The audio stream is fine and we can play in sync.