JamKazam Forums
Improving Performance with a Bootable JamKazam Os Drive - Printable Version

+- JamKazam Forums (https://forum.jamkazam.com)
+-- Forum: Jamkazam Forums (https://forum.jamkazam.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Miscellaneous (https://forum.jamkazam.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Thread: Improving Performance with a Bootable JamKazam Os Drive (/showthread.php?tid=849)

Improving Performance with a Bootable JamKazam Os Drive - GDJ - 05-17-2020

Improving Mac Performance with Bootable JamKazam Os Drive

...just sharing

Disclaimer: The following applies to those that are knowledgeable and comfortable with creating Os boot disks.  At your own risk.

I’ve been using JK since March 2020 and my music buddy and I have been getting creative with improving our setup to minimize local latency and CPU Processing. Since internet latency is out of our control, I am sharing a couple of things we have tried that seem to help. Both of us have MOTU interfaces, not that this matters. We are both on Macs, but different models and OS version.

1. I created a dedicated MacOS Sierra boot drive and installed Jamkszam and the audio Interface driver on it. I noticed my system performance is much better because I have no 3rd party applications calling home, and no need of my LittleSnitch IP monitoring utility. Essentially, it'a a vanilla operating system - minimal. When in JK, my CPU processing is down from 20 to 12 %, and audio interfaces and jitter is very low and infrequent. Additionally, I no longer experience unexplained intermittent audio disconnects. Generally speaking, it just runs better.

2. Bypassing the Router. When running from the boot drive, I connect my Mac directly to my Modem - bypassing the router. Of course this impacts my local network but in my case it’s okay. Some Modems have an extra Ethernet port on them. Mine does not.