JamKazam Forums
Input Jitter VS Fram Rate - Printable Version

+- JamKazam Forums (https://forum.jamkazam.com)
+-- Forum: Jamkazam Forums (https://forum.jamkazam.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Help with Network Gear (https://forum.jamkazam.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Input Jitter VS Fram Rate (/showthread.php?tid=797)

Input Jitter VS Fram Rate - Tyler D-Rob - 05-11-2020

Good Day, I am Rural, meaning my internet is not the greatest but I just upgraded to 5G point to point. That being said, and I am not a network guy, my frame rate is set at 2.5ms. I am in the yellow. However, when I set frame rate to 2.5, my input Jitter goes yellow and red, back and forth showing upwards of 179ms. It sounds like crap. I go to 10ms frame rate and everything else is solid green except for latency = red. My question is, is 10ms frame rate acceptable or should I choose to stay at 2.5 and just suffer the crackles and pops? I am a drummer, so latency is a challenge to begin with. Any thoughts are appreciated by the newbie. Cheers,

RE: Input Jitter VS Fram Rate - Dimitri Muskens - 05-11-2020

(05-11-2020, 08:42 PM)Tyler D-Rob Wrote: Good Day, I am Rural, meaning my internet is not the greatest but I just upgraded to 5G point to point. That being said, and I am not a network guy, my frame rate is set at 2.5ms. I am in the yellow. However, when I set frame rate to 2.5, my input Jitter goes yellow and red, back and forth showing upwards of 179ms. It sounds like crap. I go to 10ms frame rate and everything else is solid green except for latency = red. My question is, is 10ms frame rate acceptable or should I choose to stay at 2.5 and just suffer the crackles and pops? I am a drummer, so latency is a challenge to begin with. Any thoughts are appreciated by the newbie. Cheers,
>>>
Hi, for most people a lower frame rate will give better latency but could introduce some pops and/or crackling. I myself run mostly a 1ms.